Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bose 161 speakers/rear speakers

Default Bose 161 speakers/rear speakers

I had a string going on this a while ago, but I don't know where it went. I just got my car back from its 3 month purgatory. I'd put the idea on hold but have now gone forward with ordering Bose 161 bookshelf speakers to place behind the headrests. I chose them, basically 'cuz they looked like they'd be a relatively unobtrusive addition. I intend to connect them directly to my headunit to see how they sound with its power, before deciding if I need to go with a separate amp.

In my prior life as a parsimonious medical student, I found that the cheapest way to get decent sound in my 240Z was not to install inclosed speaker systems, but to use a small bookshelf speaker. Back then, it was the RadioShack Optimus, a little self inclosed box with tweeter and small woofer. I continued to use this idea thru cheapo intern and resident days, and it always seemed to work. After all, the acoustic research has already been done, and it was so easy to just Velcro the things in back there.

Anyway, I'll let you know how it sounds when it's all hashed out.
    dakine

Default Installed this weekend

They went in yesterday. Although I originally thought they would be perfect off to the sides, next to the roll cage, we ended up putting them next to each other in the center, behind the two headrests, flat ends abutted against each other behind both seats. The sound is really very very good; in my opininion, obviating an external amp. ( Weight saving) If I get ambitious, I'll add some pics later..

My friend, the stereo expert, totally disses the concep. But, I really think this is the easiest, cheapest, and most attractive way to get really good sound, to the extent that it will overpower the exhaust note, when you want it.

My personal favorites to blow it away:
    Beach Boys: Good Vibrations
    Rossini: Overture to William Tell